Texting superpowers

April 23, 2010 at 8:29 am (Uncategorized)

We interrupt this diatribe of pathetic excuses for my total lack of housekeeping skills for a few thoughts on texting.

I’m not a huge fan of texting because I’m kind of a grammar/spelling Nazi (I know, hard to believe after reading this stream-of-consciousness drivel) and I die a little bit inside every time I have to type “u” instead of “you” because there aren’t enough characters left to get my point across. But I hate it way less than actually talking on the phone so I’ve learned to cope.

Also, my phone is one of the old school ones where you have to push the 7 four times to get a freaking “s”. You’d think they would have made it easier to get to a popular letter like “s”. You only have to push the 5 once to get to “j”, which is like the 4th-least used letter in the English alphabet according to Scrabble points.

I have a friend who is a big texter with a sweet pull-out keyboard phone and we’ve been texting a lot lately. She’s always been kind of technology-phobic so it’s kind of funny that she’s a texter. But she has some kind of texting superpower where she can ask 47 questions in a single text message and it takes me like 47 text messages to answer her. For example (we’re doing some running together; also, I was telling her about Hulu because she keeps getting computer viruses from trying to watch TV online (or something, I’m not really sure)):

“how are u? have u done anything since run? how do i train? what do I eat? also what music do u listen 2 4 wking out?what’s that site 4 TV so I won’t get a virus?”

(Okay, that might have been split over two texts, but still.)

Me: “Wrote u back on facebook. My phone is too slow for long texts! Plus I only have 20 left until 4/23.”

Friend who will remain nameless just in case she thinks I’m making fun of her, which I’m totally not, because I love her like a sister and we already laughed about it together on the phone and I just think it’s flipping hysterical: “I totally understand cuz I was down 2 30 left til the 14th! I have 750txts only. How many do u have?”

Did she really want me to use one of my few remaining texts to tell her how many texts I have? She’s awesome.

I went ahead and changed my plan to 1000 texts/month. I’ll let you know how it works out.

2 Comments

  1. beta dad said,

    Is there still such a thing as T9 texting? The program where you hit the numbers once and it figures out what word you were after? I don’t know if that’s still available because everyone besides you has a qwerty keyboard.

    • Gina Patterson said,

      Yeah, but it never figures out the right words.

Leave a Reply

