Why I can never get anything done

April 20, 2010 at 10:12 pm (Uncategorized)

Warning, sort of: If you have to drive a motor vehicle or use heavy machinery or anything later, you might not want to read this now. I’m tired just thinking about writing it. If you suffer from insomnia and need a cure, read on.

So I was all excited about getting sleep last night and had big plans for all the stuff I was going to get done today. And it’s 10:00 pm and I have gotten exactly nothing done. Well, I worked out and did the dishes and some other miscellaneous child-rearing things like feeding them and diapering them and keeping them from getting strangled by the Wii console cords. But nothing extra. Like the 14 projects I need to get done.

And here’s why.

The list of prerequisites for every task is inversely proportional to the perceived simplicity of said task. For example: laundry. It’s not like I can just throw a load of whites into the washing machine and get the process started. Because the load of wash I started 2 days ago is still in there and now smells like Baby Boy’s shirt after he’s been drooling on it all day. So I have to wash that load again before I can even get started. But before I can do that, I have to clear off all the crap that has accumulated on top of the washing machine in the 2 days since I tried to start the laundry process the first time. Then by the time I get all of that taken care of, Husband will be asleep so I won’t want to wake him up to go get the next load of clothes to wash. Once I do actually get a load washed and dried, there is absolutely zero chance I’ll have time to fold it when it’s done, but I’ll need to move it to make room for the next load. So it will go on the bed or (more likely) the couch. Then Toddler Boy will jump on it and pile it all over him and/or Medium-Sized Dog will decide that’s the perfect spot to settle in for a snooze. If I do manage to fold some or all of it, I’ll neglect to put it away immediately, and Toddler Boy and/or Medium-Sized Dog will fling it around the room while I’m feeding Baby Boy.

It’s easier to just sit at the computer and complain, really.

And that’s just the laundry.

There are other reasons I can never get anything done, including but not limited to:

  • Laziness
  • Procrastination
  • Facebook
  • Blogs
  • Computer games
  • Did I mention laziness?
4 Comments

  1. Kacey R. said,

    You really must stop showing up to my home unannounced. How else would you know what was lying on top of my washer containing 2 (or 3?) day old laundry, and the stuff on my couch, and the dog lying on what has spilled onto the floor, and the stacks of folded laundry, half unfolded on the floor? It’s rather unnerving really.

  2. Mamma Gina said,

    Speaking of showing up at homes unannounced, I entertained a fantasy for way too long yesterday about little elves that were going to show up at my house and clean it all up. Maybe someday I’ll write about it. One day I’m going to figure out how to do time-lapse photography or video or something and see if I can figure out how it goes from passes-for-clean-if-someone-drops-by to are-you-freaking-kidding-me-how-did-this-happen-and-where-is-the-baby in the span of, like, 6 hours. It would be miraculous if it wasn’t so infuriating.

  3. It’s almost 11am and Son 1 is not yet dressed « Sleep-Deprived Blatherings said,

    […] April 22, 2010 at 11:27 am (Uncategorized) Another example from our series on Why I can never get anything done: […]

  4. Kacey R. said,

    My mom just loaned me the book “sidetracked home executives”. When I wasn’t laughing, I was crying. They have a good system, but I guess I’m just to much of a dunce to stick to anything…12:43, still in jammies.

Leave a Reply

